Who will be Lobbyist for Change 2017?

Do you know someone who has successfully defended human rights? Someone who deserves an award for fighting poverty?

The award Lobbyist for Change 2017 goes to an individual who has achieved concrete and measurable results through lobbying , either in terms of reducing poverty or in terms of strengthening human rights. (Criteria and Q&A).

The Lobbyist for Change Award was founded by We Effect in 2015 to increase the awareness of the important work to fight poverty and strengthen human rights through influencing decision and law makers that is carried out by organisations and individuals around the globe.

The winner is selected by a global jury. The prize sum of the award is USD 10 000 and goes to the organisation or project behind the awarded candidate. The cash award is funded by The Swedish Postcode Lottery.

The winner will be announced in May 2017.

Nomination of candidates
Any civil society organisation or NGO can nominate candidates, including employees or associates of the nominating organisation. Nomination is open from January 16st to February 28 2017. You nominate by filling out this form. 

The jury
The winner is selected by a jury with the following members:

  • Ingvar Carlsson, former Prime Minister of Sweden
  • María Teresa Fernández Ampié, president of Coordinadora de Mujeres Rurales, Nicaragua
  • KG Hammar, former Archbishop of the Church of Sweden
  • Nicklas Lundblad, head of Europe, the Middle East and Africa, public policy and government relations at Google Inc
  • Grace Mtonga, president of Civic Forum on Housing and Habitat, Zambia
  • Birgitta Ohlsson, member of parliament and former Minister of European Union Affairs, Sweden
  • Anneli Rogeman (chair), CEO at We Effect, Sweden


Meet last year winner of Lobbyist for Change – Rachael Mwikali


More options